The Holman Prize Committee

Our inaugural panel of Holman Prize judges came together at LightHouse headquarters in June 2017 to choose three winners from a pool of more than 200 ambitious and adventurous blind candidates. Encompassing a wide range of expertise including astrophysics, psychology, accessible tech, national politics, education and more, our international committee members – virtually all of whom are themselves blind – embody the spirit of James Holman, our finalists and the LightHouse for the Blind’s overarching mission.

The 2018 Holman Prize Committee will be announced later this year.

The 2017 Holman Prize Committee

Jennison Asuncion
Engineering Manager, LinkedIn
Bryan Bashin
CEO, LightHouse for the Blind and Visually Impaired
Don Brown
CEO, Access Work Systems
Dr. Wendy David
Clinical Psychologist
Chancey Fleet
Technology Educator, NY Public Library
John Heilbrunn
VP, Danish Association for the Blind
Dr. Joshua Miele
Scientist, Smith-Kettlewell Eye Institute
Dr. Brian Miller
U.S. Department of Education
Dr. Mona Minkara
Computational Chemist
Jason Roberts
Author, 'A Sense of the World'
Dr. Sharon Zell Sacks
Superintendent, CA School for the Blind
Dr. Sheri Wells-Jensen
Professor, Bowling Green State University
Gary Wunder
Editor, Braille Monitor